Rowman and Littlefield International

Off the Fence: Morality, Politics and Society

Series edited by Bob Brecher, Robin Dunford and Michael Neu

Off the Fence presents short, sharply argued texts in applied moral and political philosophy, with an interdisciplinary focus. The series constitutes a source of arguments on the substantive issues applied philosophers are concerned with: contemporary real-world issues relating to violence, human nature, justice, equality and democracy, self and society. The series demonstrates applied philosophy to be at once rigorous, relevant and accessible – philosophy-in-use.

The series is published in partnership with CAPPE, University of Brighton.

Editorial Review Board

Julia Boll, Universität Konstanz, Germany

Garrett Brown, University of Sheffield, UK

Victoria Browne, Oxford Brookes University, UK

Sorcha Uí Chonnachtaigh, Keele University, UK

Nicola Clewer, University of Brighton, UK

Angela Fenwick, University of Southampton, UK

Nolen Gertz, Pacific Lutheran University, USA

Tim Huzar, University of Brighton, UK

Andy Knott, University of Brighton, UK

Tarik Kochi, University of Sussex, UK

Vicky Margree, University of Brighton, UK

Herjeet Marway, University of Birmingham, UK

Jonathan Seglow, Royal Holloway, University of London, UK

Lubica Ucnik, Murdoch University, Australia

Peter West-Oram, University of Birmingham, UK

Aaron Winter, University of East London, UK

Clare Woodford, University of Brighton, UK

Dominik Feldmann, PhD Candidate, Cologne University, Germany

Ross Sparkes, MA Candidate, Kingston University, UK

International Advisory Board

Sigrid Baringhorst, Universität Siegen, Germany

Joanna Bourke, Birkbeck, University of London, UK

Gideon Calder, University of South Wales, UK

Ruth Chadwick, University of Manchester, UK

Beverley Clack, Oxford Brookes University, UK

Tom Claes, Universiteit Gent, Belgium

Phillip Cole, University of the West of England, UK

Klaus-Gerd Giesen, Université d’Auvergne, France

Tim Heysse, KU Leuven, Belgium

Richard Jackson, University of Otago, New Zealand

Mark McGovern, Edge Hill University, UK

Glen Newey, Free University Brussels, Belgium

Doris Schroeder, UCLAN, UK and Melbourne, Australia

Janna Thompson, La Trobe University, Australia

Stephen Wilkinson, Lancaster University, UK

Thomas Zoglauer, BTU Cottbus, Germany

Evert van der Zweerde, Radboud Universiteit, Netherlands