Rowman and Littlefield International

Media Philosophy

Series edited by M. Beatrice Fazi and Eleni Ikoniadou

In the 21st century it is evident that the most significant events of the world are media events – not least in the sense that in the age of ubiquitous computational media, the very notion of mediation is transformed along with the world. Given this, it is surprising that there has been little sustained attempt to think these fundamental changes and the ‘eventness’ of media philosophically, that is to say beyond simply calculating its social and economic costs and benefits within the immediate horizon established by media and cultural studies.

This series seeks to transform thinking about media by inciting a turn towards Media Philosophy. We invite rigorous and yet adventurous investigations and speculations on existing and new modes and forms of mediation.

Media Philosophy showcases the ‘transcontinental’ work of established and emerging thinkers whose work enlivens the Continental tradition that provides much of its conceptual armoury, even as it confronts, in different ways, the complex challenges of its own environment; that is an environment traversed by global communications that are always on the threshold of transformation by the events of media. The series is dedicated to pushing the thinking of media through projects looking for uncertain, unknown and contingent rhythms that inflect and change the world.

The series welcomes proposals for monographs and well-curated edited collections that pioneer new directions of inquiry.

Editorial Review Board

Matthew Fuller, Goldsmiths, University of London, UK

Erin Manning, Concordia University, Canada

Brian Massumi, Université de Montréal, Canada

Lev Manovich, CUNY, USA

Andrew Goffey, University of Nottingham, UK

Steven Shaviro, Wayne State University, USA

Pasi Väliaho, Goldsmiths, University of London, UK

Jonathan Sterne, McGill University, Canada

Richard Doyle, Penn State, USA

Joanna Zylinska, Goldsmiths, University of London, UK

Olga Goriunova, University of Warwick, UK

Luciana Parisi, Goldsmiths, University of London, UK

Charlie Gere, Lancaster University, UK

Boris Groys, New York University, USA

Stefan Heidenreich, Leuphana Universität Lüneburg, Germany

Martin McQuillan, Kingston University, UK

Jussi Parikka, Winchester School of Art, UK

Bernhard Siegert, Bauhaus University Weimar, Germany

Eugene Thacker, New School, USA

Greg Ulmer, State University of Florida, USA

Samuel Weber, Northwestern University, USA & Kingston University, UK

Graham Harman, American University in Cairo, Egypt

Mai Wegener, Institute of Philosophy, Berlin, Germany

Geoffrey Winthrop-Young, University of British Columbia, Canada

Peter Weibel, ZKM, Centre for Art and Media Karlsruhe, Germany

Wolfgang Ernst, Humboldt University, Berlin, Germany

Felicity Colman, University of the Arts, London, UK