Rowman and Littlefield International

Global Critical Caribbean Thought

Series edited by Lewis R. Gordon, Nelson Maldonado-Torres and Jane Anna Gordon

The Caribbean anticipated what is now a shared global condition of constant migration, dislocation, and creolization. Despite the impressive scale and scope of intellectual production that has emerged from the region, it continues to be the focus of empirical and literary scholarship, rather than theoretical and philosophical engagement. This series, published in partnership with the Caribbean Philosophical Association, turns the lens on the unfolding nature and potential future shape of the globe by taking concepts and ideas that while originating out of very specific contexts share features that lend them transnational utility. Works in the series engage with figures including Frantz Fanon, CLR James, Paulo Freire, Aime Cesaire, Edouard Glissant and Walter Rodney, and concepts such as coloniality, creolization, decoloniality, double consciousness and la facultdad.

Editorial Review Board

Patricia Donatien-Yssa, University of the Antilles and Guyane, Martinique

Enrique Dussel, Universidad Autónoma Metropolitana, Universidad Autónoma de la Ciudad de México, y Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Mexico

Philomena Essed, Antioch College, USA

Nathalie Etoke, Connecticut College, USA

Paget Henry, Brown University, USA

Abdul JanMohamed, Emory University, USA

Elizabeth Kassab, Käte Hamburger Center for Advanced Study in the Humanities “Law as Culture”, Germany

Firoze Manji, CODESRIA, Senegal

Brian Meeks, University of the West Indies at Mona, Jamaica

Patricia Mohammed, University of West Indies in St. Augustine, Trinidad

Walter Mignolo, Duke University, USA

Françoise Naudillon, Concordia University, Montreal, Canada

Sabelo Ndlovu-Gatsheni, University of South Africa

Wandia Njoya, Daystar University, Kenya

Carlos Rojas Osario, University of Puerto Rico, Humacao

Jean-Paul Rocchi, University of Paris-East, France

Linda Tuhiwai Smith, University of Waikato, New Zealand

Huijuan Tan, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China

Catherine Walsh, the Universidad Andina Simon Bolivar, Quito, Ecuador