Rowman and Littlefield International

Global Aesthetic Research

Series edited by Joseph J. Tanke

The Global Aesthetic Research series publishes cutting-edge research in the field of aesthetics. It contains books that explore the principles at work in our encounters with art and nature, that interrogate the foundations of artistic, literary, and cultural criticism, and that articulate the theory of the discipline’s central concepts. In short, it is an attempt to create a new venue for the best research in the field of aesthetics without regard for its geographical origin or philosophical orientation.

The series is undertaken in recognition that aesthetics has become central to global conversations in the humanities, in particular those that seek to address questions about the intersections between art, politics, culture, history, and theory. The GAR series understands our current situation as an opportunity to create an unprecedented arena for the exchange of ideas and the creation of new knowledge. It finds in aesthetics the resources for carrying out a critical interrogation of the significance of art and culture, as well as a set of concepts and theoretical strategies that surpass traditional disciplinary borders.

We welcome proposals for monographs, edited collections and translations of significant new works on individual philosophers, overviews of historical periods, studies of different artistic, literary, and intellectual movements, issues in design and architecture, analyses of non-Western philosophies of art and literature, theoretical readings of artists and writers, as well as books that interrogate the concept of art and the nature of the aesthetic as such.

Editorial Review Board

J. M. Bernstein, The New School, USA

Alexander Nehamas, Princeton University, USA

Arne De Boever, California Institute of the Arts, USA

Steve Odin, University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa, USA

Susan Feagin, Temple University, USA

Oliver Davis, University of Warwick, UK

Richard Kearney, Boston College, USA

Pradeep Dhillon, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Yuriko Saito, Rhode Island School of Design, USA

Gary Shapiro, University of Richmond, USA

Rudolf Makkreel, Emory University, USA

Peter Milne, Seoul National University, South Korea

Hee-young Kim,  Kookman University, South Korea

Gabriel Rockhill, Villanova University, USA

Timothy Costelloe, College of William and Mary, USA

Joseph Margolis, Temple University, USA

Peng Feng, Peking University, China

Diarmuid Costello, University of Warwick, UK

Carolyn Korsmyer, University of Buffalo, USA

Curtis Carter, Marquette University, USA