Rowman and Littlefield International

Founding Critical Theory

Series edited by Gordon Finlayson, Dirk Michel-Schertges and Darrow Schecter

The Founding Critical Theory series publishes original research on prominent figures, texts and topics in, and associated with, the first generation of Frankfurt School Critical Theory. The series comprises specialized treatments of topics and thinkers together with new translations of key texts from the period. Emphasis is lent to Critical Theory as an on-going research project, and both its original research and historical scholarship is articulated in these terms. Critical Theory contains an intrinsic commitment to inter-disciplinary research, and this series attempts to honour this commitment where possible.

The series focuses on the work of Max Horkheimer, Theodor Adorno, Herbert Marcuse, Friedrich Pollock, Erich Fromm, Otto Kirchheimer, Walter Benjamin, Leo Löwenthal, and Franz Leopold Neumann. Unifying these figures is a desire to hew close to the anti-foundationalist approach, and to produce accounts of social wholes, cognition, and the persistence of capitalism. Associated figures – who were not employed by the institute, but are of importance both due to their influence on the institute and due to their continuity with these thematic concerns – include Siegfried Kracauer, Hans Cornelius, Alfred Sohn-Rethel, Georg Lukács and Hans Eisler.

The series welcomes proposals for monographs, translations and well-curated edited collections that pioneer new directions of inquiry.

Editorial Review Board

Brian O’Connor, University College Dublin, Ireland

Gordon Finlayson, University of Sussex, UK

Werner Bonefeld, University of York, UK

Fred Rush, Notre Dame University, USA

Jay Bernstein, The New School, USA

Lambert Zuidervaart, Institute for Christian Studies, Canada

Deborah Cook, University of Windsor, Canada

Christoph Menke, Goethe Universitat, Germany

Andrew Arato, The New School, USA