Rowman and Littlefield International

Essex Studies in Contemporary Critical Theory

Series edited by Peter Dews, Lorna Finlayson, Fabian Freyenhagen, Steven Gormley, Timo Jütten, and Jörg Schaub

The Essex Studies in Contemporary Critical Theory series aims to develop the critical analysis of contemporary societies. The series publishes both substantive critical analyses of recent and current developments in society and culture and studies dealing with methodological/conceptual problems in the Critical Theory tradition, intended to further enhance its ability to address the problems of contemporary society and culture. The series includes original work in English and translations from German and French. Led by the team at the School of Philosophy and Art History at the University of Essex, the series seeks to set the direction of Critical Theory in the decades to come.

The series welcomes proposals for monographs and edited collections that pioneer new directions of inquiry in the field. Please contact Fabian Freyenhagen: [email protected]

Editorial Review Board

Miriam Bankovsky, La Trobe University, Australia

Mauro Basaure, Andrés Bello University, Chile

Wendy Brown, University of California, Berkeley, USA

Maeve Cooke, University College Dublin, Ireland

Didier Fassin, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, USA

Estelle Ferrarese, University of Strasbourg, France

Axel Honneth, Columbia University, USA

Rahel Jaeggi, Humboldt University, Germany

Juliane Rebentisch, Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach, Germany

Beate Rössler, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands

Vladimir Safatle, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil

Alison Stone, University of Lancaster, UK