Rowman and Littlefield International

Discourse, Power and Society

Martin J. Power, Amanda Haynes, Eoin Devereux and Aileen Dillane

The Discourse, Power and Society series will publish edited collections, monographs and textbooks which problematize the relationship of discourse to inequality, exclusion, subjugation, dominance and privilege. In doing so, the linkages between discourse, modes of social organisation, lived experience and strategies of resistance will be addressed. Discourse is understood as both an expression and a mechanism of power, by which means particular social realities are conceived, made manifest, legitimated, naturalized, challenged, resisted and reimagined.

This series is edited by an eponymous interdisciplinary research cluster located at the University of Limerick, Ireland, which provides a platform for researchers working within sociology, sociolinguistics, political science, education, ethnomusicology and social geography to come together to advance their shared interest in the critical analysis of public discourses and the elucidation of their social meaning, significance and material impacts. The publications record of the series editors – Drs Martin J. Power, Amanda Haynes, Aileen Dillane and Eoin Devereux – reflects the interdisciplinarity of the endeavour, each utilising discourse analysis as theory and method, across the fields of sociology, ethnomusicology, popular music, cultural studies and media studies.

Theoretically, books in this series are envisaged as:

•Illuminating the generative power of discourse in constructing, sustaining and challenging inequitable modes of social organization.
•Interrogating the potential of discourse to both foreclose and promote alternative frameworks of understanding within the public consciousness
•Uncovering the conditions under which established and radical discourses flourish or are dismissed.

Empirically, the series editors are particularly interested in publishing work which:

•Documents the frameworks of understanding proffered by contemporary and historical discourses, including their temporal and cultural specificities
•Unearths the historical roots of popular and ‘common sense’ discourses
•Unpacks the socio-political contexts which inform discourses.
•Uncovers the interests served by specific discursive formations.

Methodologically, the series will welcome texts which:

•Address key ontological and epistemological debates within the broad field of discourse analysis
•Curate collections of essays by cutting edge researchers on approaches to discourse analysis as method
•Provide introductory and supporting materials aimed at final year undergraduate and postgraduate students who are new to the analysis of discourse.

The discourses, which form the subject matter of this series, will include both mainstream and alternative public, political, policy, legal, musical and cultural discourses. This interdisciplinary collection will include texts located in sociology, cultural studies, musicology, socio-linguistics, social psychology, legal studies, political science, education and more. A range of theoretical perspectives are anticipated, including but not limited to Foucauldian discourse analysis, critical discourse analysis (drawing on Van Dijk, Wodak and Fairclough), traditions originating with Laclau and Mouffe and Bourdieusian treatments.

Please send proposals to the series editors at [email protected]

Editorial Review Board

Imogen Tyler, Lancaster University, UK.

Pat O’ Connor , University of Limerick, Ireland

Celine-Marie Pascale, American University, Washington DC

Marie Parker Jenkins, University of Limerick, Ireland

Viviane de Melo Resende, University of Brasilia, Brazil

Dave Hill, Anglia Ruskin University, UK.

Jackie Jia Lou, City University, Hong Kong

Helen Kelly-Holmes, University of Limerick, Ireland

Kevin Whitehead, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa

Gavan Titley, National University of Ireland, Maynooth, Ireland

Uta Helfrich, Universität Göttingen, Germany

Helen Davies, Teeside University, UK.

Laura Garcia Landa, National Autonomous University of Mexico, Mexico

Mairead Moriarty, University of Limerick, Ireland