Rowman and Littlefield International

Continental Philosophy in Austral-Asia

Series edited by Simone Bignall, P. Diego Bubbio, Joanne Faulkner and Paul Patton

This series transports a tradition of thought understood as belonging to one place — ‘the continent’ — to places that were transformed in its image through colonisation: Australia, New Zealand, East Asia and South Asia. The series aims to explore and showcase the diverse ways in which European philosophy has been interpreted and put to use according to the contexts and questions particular to life in even further, stranger and more ‘exotic’ continents. Taken to new geographical limits, continental philosophy reflects on its own conceptual limits. Its animating questions may become questionable in this new field, as thought recalibrates itself to different relationships: between self and other; between ‘man’ and nature; between the home of one’s cultural imaginary and the home in which one finds oneself. At least in Australia, the European legacy continues to resist and deny its proximity to Asia, and to imagine itself ‘home’. How does European thought find itself at home in Australasia, and connect to climates, societies and peoples other than those in which it found its first foothold?

The series is published in partnership with the Australasian Society for Continental Philosophy. The series welcomes proposals for monographs and edited collections that pioneer new directions of inquiry in the field.

Editorial Review Board

Sean Bowden, Deakin University, Australia

Jean-Philippe Deranty, Macquarie University, Australia

Rosalyn Diprose, University of New South Wales, Australia

Simone Drichel, University of Otago, New Zealand

Simon Duffy, Yale-NUS College, Singapore

Robyn Ferrell, University of Sydney, Australia

Moira Gatens, University of Sydney, Australia

Lisa N. Guenther, Vanderbilt University, USA

Fiona Jenkins, Australian National University, Australia

Gareth Jones, HKSKH Ming Hua Theological College, Hong Kong

Kojin Karatani, Tokyo, Japan

Marguerite La Caze, University of Queensland, Australia

Joyce C.H. Liu, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan

Franson Manjali, Jawaharlal Nehru University, India

Catherine Mills, Monash University, Australia

Eric Nelson, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong

Timothy O’Leary, University of Hong Kong

Jack Reynolds, Deakin University, Australia

Matheson Russell, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Matthew Sharpe, Deakin University, Australia

Laurence Simmons, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Robert Sinnerbrink, Macquarie University, Australia

Sarah Sorial, University of Wollongong, Australia