Rowman and Littlefield International

Collective Studies in Knowledge and Society

Series edited by James H. Collier

Collective Studies in Knowledge and Society, an interdisciplinary series published in collaboration with the Social Epistemology Review and Reply Collective, addresses questions arising from understanding knowledge as constituted by, and constitutive of, existing, dynamic and governable social relations. The series encourages work forwarding and redefining five inter-related activities:

  • Analyzing the normative social dimensions of pursuing and organizing knowledge;
  • Examining policy-making principles shaping scientific and /or technological innovation;
  • Exploring changing conceptions of humans and humanity;
  • Re-imaging the university as a unique space for developing knowledge practices;
  • Promoting philosophy as a vital, necessary, public activity.


Also commissioned in this series:

Edited by Patrick J. Reider, Social Epistemology and Epistemic Agency: Decentralizing Epistemic Agency (2016)

Editorial Review Board

James H. Collier, Virginia Tech University, USA

Susan Dieleman, Dalhoisie University, Canada

Steve Fuller, University of Warwick, UK

Stephen Norrie, Loughborough University, UK

Inanna Hamati-Ataya, University of Cambridge, UK

Eric Kerr, National University of Singapore

Joan Leach, University of Queensland, Australia

David Budtz Pedersen, Aarhus University, Denmark

Patrick J. Reider, University of Pittsburgh, USA

Francis Remedios,  Independent Researcher

Adam Riggio, McMaster University, Canada

Gregory Sandstrom, European Humanities University, Lithuania

Elisabeth Simbürger, Universidad Valparaíso, Chile

International Advisory Board

Guy Axtell, Radford University, USA

Thomas Basbøll, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark

Nathan Bell, University of North Texas, USA

Anya Bernstein, Harvard University, USA

Laura Cabrera, University of British Columbia, Canada

Sarah Chan, University of Manchester, UK

Emma Craddock, University of Nottingham, UK

Trevor Croker, Virginia Tech University, USA

Fred D’Agostino, University of Queensland, Australia

William Davis, Virginia Tech University, USA

Marianne DeLaet, Harvey Mudd College, USA

Martin Evenden, National Taichung University of Education, Taiwan

Melinda Bonnie Fagan, University of Utah, USA

Sreejith K K, University of Hyderabad, India

Janja Komljenovič, University of Bristol, UK

Veronika Lipinska, Lund University, Sweden

Carlo Martini, Finnish Centre of Excellence in the Philosophy of the Social Sciences, Finland

Fabien Medvecky, University of Queensland, Australia

María G. Navarro, Spanish Council for Scientific Research, Spain

Phil Olson, Virginia Tech University, USA

Melissa Orozco, Universidad Autónoma de Querétaro, Mexico

Victoria Peake, University of Warwick, UK

Verusca Reis, Northern State University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Diana Rishani, American University Beirut, Lebanon

Elena Simakova, University of Exeter, UK

Todd Suomela, University of Tennessee, USA

Miika Vähämaa, University of Helsinki, Finland

Mark West, University of North Carolina, Asheville, USA

Emilie Whitaker, University of Birmingham, UK

Pedro Saez Williams, University of Warwick, UK